Emergency cake (Anarchy Cake)

Standard

I forget about this cake till I need it.  I host bookclub very rarely.  And we had decided January was too busy so we have a date set for March. That said, I offered, for those who still wanted to come over for January’s Friday night meeting, to host.  But…it was Friday night.  Every dish is dirty.  But we have books and wine and of course, I can always make the emergency Ancharchy Cake.  From “The Best American Recipes 2002-2003”.  I doubled it.  Completely freaked out when I thought I might have quadrupled the milk, but baked it anyway.  It was wonderful.  I don’t know still how much milk I put in.  

  1. 1 1/2 cups fruit, sliced if using peaches, apricots, or plums; pitted cherries.  Messy is fine.  Or 4 oz. of chocolate chopped.  >>This time I used chocolate chips.
  2. 1/2 cup plus an additional 1-2 tablespoons superfine sugar.  >>I had it, left over from jelly making this summer, but I know I don’t always.
  3. 3/4 up cake flour or pastry flour.  >>Had it but if you have to regular flour works.
  4. 3/4 tsp baking powder
  5. 1/4 tsp salt
  6. 1 large egg
  7. 1/4 tsp fresh lemon zest
  8. 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil >>Used the last of it and added enough canola to make the amount
  9. 1/4 cup milk
  10. 1/2 tsp balsamic vinegar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line the bottom of a 10 inch springform pan with parchment paper, brush with oil, lightly flour.  >>Thanks to K, I have a springform pan, yay!  Would work in any pan.

In a bowl, mix the fruit and a little sugar and set aside.  >>Because I used chocolate, I didn’t have to do this.

In another bowl, mix together the flour, powder, and salt.

In mix, beat the egg with 1/2 cup sugar and zest until light, fluffy, and pale in color.  Takes as long as 5 minutes.  Add the oil, then the milk and vinegar, beating until combined.  Using a spatula, fold in the flour mix.  Batter into pan, drop the fruit or chocolate on top.  Sprinkle with remaining 1 tablespoon sugar.  Bake for 50 minutes or until top is beautiful golden brown and a knife or toothpick comes back clean.  Cool, remove the sides of the pan, and serve.

Leave a Reply

