Fall Farmshare madness, cooking as a force against, my disappointment in the two A’s, and other times and places

Standard

 Fall Farmshare madness

Well, the time has arrived.  It is time to cook the beets.  First just one or two per pickup and now many more.  Accumulated over the many months, the beets have now been rendered (roasted) into enough to make borscht (nah) or vinegret, a Russian beet salad I used to make in my days surrounded by the russian language and a few elderly russian friends.  So vinegret it is.

Russian cooked vegetable salad (Vinagret)

  • 7-8 beets of various sizes, only 2 of them were really big, peeled and roasted in olive oil, then cooled
  • 3 medium potatoes, peeled and diced plus 3 carrots quartered the long way and chopped into diced, boiled in salted water until tender
  • 10 small dill pickles, chopped up
  • half a bag of frozen peas, unwarmed
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup chopped sweet onion
  • some scallions chopped
  • Some fresh dill chopped (1/4 cup?)
  • salt and pepper

All dressed with:

  • 1 tsp. dry mustard
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 3 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup sunflower or corn oil
  • salt and freshly grown black pepper to taste

Cooking as a force against

Jim says that it used to be finding me cooking meant I was happy.  Now it often means I am upset.

In addition to the vinegret, I roasted three squashes with three vidalia onions.  I have a recipe for Butternut squash and spinach lasagne in case I get ambitious tomorrow, but may just eat it on quinoa with feta cheese.  So there you have it, the recipe for Quinoa with Feta Cheese and Roasted Squash and Onions.  🙂

My disappointment in the two A’s

Amazon and Audible.  I know that Amazon is the Big Bad these days, but the rising kindle edition prices are a disappointment, and now Audible isn’t releasing big name audio books always at the same time as the print, or, often, they aren’t linked to sync.  Sigh.  Such is the world, I guess.  I only, therefore, bought the audio version with my monthly credit of the new Louise Penny mystery novel.  It is careful and lovely and subtle as usual.  Welcome.

Other Times and Places

Graduate school was a hard time for me.  I wasn’t ready for it, for one, and I was far from home.  The group of people who were my colleagues were wonderful but not the people I would find my home in.  I learned about reading beyond my own pleasure and about what it was like to not be the most eager learner and how much more important that eagerness was than strict intelligence.  They were uncomfortable often difficult years, but I learned so much and became so much more resilient.  That has been true of every hard time in my life.  How much more resilient do I want to be?

When the girls were learning to read, Maggie signaled a new facility by sounding out How…to…coo…k…EV…er…y…thing…by…Mar…k…Bitt…man.  This morning I made frittata a la Mark and his cookbook for my parents who are leaving in a little more than a week to go to Florida.  I always miss the but I can tell I am going to miss them even more this year.

I didn’t look up the recipe but here’s my adaptation:

Mark Bittman and Michele’s fritatta

5 eggs and 1 2/3 cup of half and half in a bowl (woulda used milk but we’re out) and 1 2/3 cup of grated cheddar and romano cheese, as well as a sprinkle of cayenne on top

In my medium cast iron skillet I sauted and onion (another part of the farmshare down!) and three cold diced baked potatoes leftover from the other night in butter and olive oil with salt.

When that was done and brown, I poured the egg mixture over and put it in the oven at 400 degrees fahrenheit until it was puffy and brown on top.

Then we ate it.  🙂

Leave a Reply

